How to remove email account from Outlook? [2007, 2010, 2013, 2017, 2019, 365]

There are multiple ways to mute a specific email account or email message received in your Inbox, using the rule function, some email account are so spammy which really deserve detention in your Microsoft Outlook.

In this article, You will learn a complete tutorial on “How To Delete Email Account From Outlook?”

Microsoft Outlook only acts as a platform for multiple emails, deactivating an email account from Outlook, doesn’t deactivate the email account from the server. You can access the email account from the main server or browser.

The steps/instructions must be applicable for Microsoft 365, Outlook 2019, Outlook 2016, 2013, and 2010.

How To Delete Outlook Account?

You can delete email accounts that you no longer need from the list of mailboxes connected to Outlook with just a few clicks. Deleting an Email account from Microsoft Outlook is quite simple, here are the steps to follow:

  • Open Microsoft Outlook
  • Click File Tab upper left corner of the screen >> Info >> Account Settings >> Account Settings

account setting delete account

  • Account Settings dialog box appears >> Select the email address you like to remove
  • Click Remove

remove account outlook

  • A warning message pops up “Careful, if you remove this account, its offline cached content will be deleted”.  This only affects content downloaded and stored on your computer.

confirmation message outlook

  • Click Yes to confirm.

There is another option to remove Outlook using Control Panel.

  • Close Microsoft Outlook if open.
  • Click Win + R >> Type control panel >> Click on the Mail (Microsoft Outlook) icon.

mail icon Microsoft Outlook

  • Click on the Email Accounts button from the Mail Setup dialog box.

mail setup dialog box

  • The next step opens up the Account Settings dialog box >> Select the email address you like to remove
  • Click Remove

remove account outlook

  • A warning message pops up “Careful, if you remove this account, its offline cached content will be deleted”.  This only affects content downloaded and stored on your computer.

confirmation message outlook

  • Click Yes to confirm.

Once, you delete the email address from Outlook, the PST file of that email address still available in your computer location, which later on recovers the fills and transfer to another computer.

Related articles:

Leave a Comment